Breaking a sweat

Posted: March 13, 2019 in Uncategorized

PicsArt_03-09-11.09.57

I was watching an interview on YouTube where this very beautiful lady with a good body was saying she has only stepped in a gym like twice in her life. I would have once cringed at that but we are all different. I loved playing games in primary school and a few years of high school as well. However, there came a point where running round the field was like my worst punishment. I tried playing almost every sport such as basketball, hockey, rounders and netball. Then when I was diagnosed with diabetes I was just always tired and didn’t care about sports anymore.

When I went to University I intended to join the basketball team and went for a few practice sessions. I was the only freshman there and it intimidated me a bit so I stopped going.  After that I didn’t care much for sports or exercise but instead decided to get the “full university experience” but it didn’t really help my health much. Of course this included drinking and such like activities. Kwanza there were some bhajia’s that we would go look for in Rongai cause supper in school totally sucked. After I got my cataracts removal surgery I decided I needed to take things a bit more seriously. I’d wake up at like 5am to do Zumba and Tae bo in the house. I actually really enjoyed it a lot. Then I felt it was becoming a bit too monotonous so I asked my folks if they would pay the gym for me. I went to the gym and was able to run longer and started using weights here and there. So at my heaviest I was over 100kgs at some point.  Seeing that on the scale made me get so depressed. I tried all the fad diets from Atkins to Mayo and a few others and always looked for a quick fix.

I would watch shows for losing weight for motivation. My favourite was “biggest loser”. I thought that would make me become consistent but it surely did not. The problem I had was that I was always looking for quick and simple solutions. I would envy every lady I saw who didn’t have to struggle with weight issues. I have always been on the heavier side and trust me I come from a family where we really like our food. But there was something that would always push me to keep trying no matter what. I actually ended up losing a few kgs from adjusting my eating habits in small ways. For example I’d reduce the amount of carbs on my plate or look for more veggie options and try stick to simple foods. I had initially wanted to lose weight for all the wrong reasons. Now, when my health improved, it became my biggest motivator. I felt amazing and even started becoming more adventurous by going for boot camps and running marathons.

I feel so good about myself and my body and have finally accepted myself for exactly the way I am. I feel this new kind of self confidence all because of working out. I can sometimes slack which is okay just as long as I get back on that wagon. I am not looking to be the fittest or the strongest but of course to be the best version of me. As a woman I think it’s also important not to look at other women for comparison or competition but instead complement them. Trust me everyone has their own insecurities so just because someone out there looks like they have it all together doesn’t mean that’s the case. Also don’t forget to celebrate your small achievements. We are all different and we can’t all have big butts/hips, tiny waists and thick thighs. Right now I really love what I am doing in the gym and still have a knack for kickboxing. I give everything I do my all. Whether it’s deadlifts, squatting or pulling. Breaking a sweat is my new sense of thrive. Helps with health, stress and confidence. This is my 30 and thriving year

 

 

 

Leave a comment